Hello Australia!

At 4:45am on Sunday September 2 I landed at Brisbane International Airport to begin an exciting new journey. So far, the journey has been an incredible one and I absolutely love the Gold Coast.  Along with its obvious visual beauty, the culture and people are just as enjoyable. Everyone here seems to genuinely enjoy life and they are much more laid back and easy going than our fast-paced American life style. Im sure it helps that minimum wage here is $16 (roughly $17 US). That being said, everything is far more expensive than I am used to. For example, a small box of Pop Tarts is $13 and wireless internet at a hotel is $30 per day. Luckily Bond has free wifi on campus.

One thing Bond does not have though, is buffet style cafeterias. The American all-you-can-eat, stuff your face like its Thanksgiving every meal concept does not exist here. Everything is a la carte. No soda fountains, no refills, no meal swipes. This is not a bad thing, just something that I will have to get used to as I am a big fan of 2nd’s and 3rd’s. Oh, and when you order BBQ pork at the cafe, don’t expect a big juicy pork sandwich dripping in tomato based BBQ sauce. No, you can expect a small piece of pork floating in a bowl of chicken broth filled with noodles. I learned the hard way.

Image

I have met many different people from across the world in my 2 days here. The school has over 50% international students from what I hear, 250 of them being in the same study exchange program as me. The only people on campus currently are the incoming students partaking in Orientation week. I live in a single room and share a bathroom, common room and kitchen with 4 other people including fellow HPU mate, Wade Rothrock.

Image

Before I arrived on campus today, I spent my first day in Australia in Surfers Paradise with several other High Point students. We walked around the city and had a blast. The Gold Coast reminds me a lot of a city like Miami, but it has its own unique character at the same time. This will come as a shock to most of you… I also caught a little bit of the Wake Forest football game online. Some things I have trouble giving up.

Image

So far its been awesome. I am really looking forward to the rest of O-week and meeting new people. Classes start next Monday so I have plenty of time to really settle in and get some sleep after a long trip and a fast paced couple of days.

2 thoughts on “Hello Australia!

  1. Stephen Clowes says:

    I don’t know if I could deal without buffets haha. Looks like an awesome area!

  2. Tricia says:

    thanks for the update honey. Love and miss you!

Leave a Reply

