Living in the Moment

As I sit in my room and reflect of the first half of my time in Australia, I am struck by how quickly it has gone by. Thus far, my experience has been incredible and there never seems to be a dull moment. I’ve gone places that this time last year I would have never guessed I would visit, and plan to travel to even more. I have adapted to the Australian way of life, as I now naturally look right then left when crossing the road. I even move to the left side when someone is walking by. Oh, and I attended my first auto race this weekend, the Gold Coast 600 V8 Supercar race. So I would say that my Aussie experience to this point has been a memorable one.

But these past few days I have found myself thinking more about how much I miss __________ about America. My family, friends, Mama’s cooking, the fall weather, HPU, college football, cookout, my car, etc… The Counting Crows said it best “You don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone.” I am not sure if it is the recent school work load, my time away, or what, but I have missed home a bit more than before. And as most of you know, I am not one to get homesick. Also, with the upcoming holiday season arriving, it will be odd to be in class during Thanksgiving and right up to Christmas.

But as I find myself thinking more and more about home, I also find myself having the time of my life here in Australia. This obviously makes things easier. This has made me realize that, although it’s completely normal to miss the things I am accustomed to, I need to worry less about what I don’t have and spend more time appreciating what I do have.  After all, once I return back to NC I will have all of these things waiting for me, and Australia will be a memory, and a fantastic one at that.

I think I am someone who spends far too much time thinking about what is next, and not enough time appreciating what I have been given at that time. This is not to say that planning ahead is bad, because it’s not, but it is important to enjoy the moment that God has given me.

Always looking ahead will cause you to miss great moments in life. I do not want to fall victim to this, although I’m sure I do too often. This is a unique opportunity that I have been given and I do not want it to pass without making the absolute most of it.

One thought on “Living in the Moment

  1. Tricia says:

    So nice to skype with you yesterday. Living in the present is a challenge. Sounds like you are working hard on it. Love you bunches!

Leave a Reply

